- Treasurer's Office
- Tax Deferment
Summer Tax Deferment
You can delay payment of this bill without penalty or interest until February 14th if your total household income for the previous was under $40,000 and you are classified as one of the following:
- Age 62 or older, including the un-remarried surviving spouse of a person who was 62 years of age or older at the time of death.
- A paraplegic, quadriplegic, blind or totally and permanently disabled person
- A service person currently serving in the military with household income less than $7,500
- A veteran who:
- Receives compensation for a service-related disability, or
- Served in the military during the Vietnam era, Korean War, World War II, World War I or earlier wars and has household income of $7,500 or less.
- An un-remarried surviving spouse of any service person or veteran who:
- Met veteran qualification above, or
- Died while serving in the military.
Apply NowIf you qualify for a deferment, bring your completed Application for Deferment of Summer Taxes (PDF) and a copy of your MI 1040-CR (Michigan Homestead Property Tax Credit - for the previous year) to the City Treasurer’s Office, so that your deferral can be approved.
Learn MoreFor more information, you may view our Frequently Asked Questions (PDF) about summer tax deferment. You can also check with the Michigan Department of Treasury for tax forms and additional instructions.
Deferment forms are not valid if they have not been approved by the City Treasurer’s Office on or before mid-September.